Skip to content

how do you guys do onpage seo now?

Comments

• edited January 2014
    Regarding silos I still don;t see, why is it better to have 5/10 pages about a topic, rather than just one? the basic premise as i see it is that each page of a silo 'charges up' the kw you want to rank for, but why is it a case of 'the more the merrier' other than that more content = better?

Added to that how do you know its your ;l33t silo skillz and not just by dint of having more content that 'juices up' the main kw? ie the raindance theory.
  • edited January 2014
    Also could siloing be understand as like tiered linkbuilding but for your site, if you replace backlinks with keywords/articles?

I havent followed the whole thread so maybe my quesitons have already been discussed :D

@gooner, no thats not pigheaded thats called being scieitific :)
  • 2Take22Take2 UK
    edited January 2014
    @peterparker - I'm no expert, but in theory, silos work for at least 2 reasons;

1 - Thematic relevance - The more pages you have about a topic, the more relevance you can essentially manufacture to help you rank for your target keyword/s.  Google is all about relevance.

2 - Effective flow of link juice (PR) through the site to the pages that you want to rank.

Also, to answer your question about siloing being like tiered link building, I would say that there are some similarities, but it is more like a tiered structure of internal links/pages within your site (with a linkwheel/mesh at the bottom of each tier).
  • goonergooner SERLists.com
    @johndee - I could test it, but i don't see the need to change a formula that works. Or to spend twice as long building a site by silo'ing it which may or may not yield better results, but will definitely decrease user experience.

So i repeat the question to all you silo addicts... Can anyone give me a keyword that is silo dominated on page one please?