Skip to content

New to GSA and Have a Few Questions on Proxies and a VPS

edited March 2013 in Need Help
Hey guys,

I just started using GSA about a week ago and this is an awesome tool, but I have a few questions regarding proxies and switching to a VPS.

1. How many private proxies are recommended if I plan on having say 50 projects running at a time (3 tiers for each project)? I currently have 10 privates, should I upgrade to more or is 10 sufficient?

2. I was thinking of switching to a VPS (right now just using my desktop computer). I know Berman is a good one, but I have never used a VPS before. Is it easy to setup and use or does it take some technical knowledge? Any tips on this aspect would be appreciated.

3. If I do switch to the VPS, am I able to import all of my current GSA settings and projects over or would I have to re-setup everything?

4. Lastly, and this is kind of a noob question, but if I have everything running on a VPS, does my computer need to be on at all times or can I have GSA running 24/7 even if my desktop is turned off?

Thanks in advance!
Tagged:

Comments

• edited March 2013
    1. depends on how many threads you run
    2. very easy.
    3. yes
    4. no, computer doesn't need to be on
    1. It's more to do with threads and I think @Ozz suggests 10 proxies per 100 threads, but tbh I use 20 private proxies with up to 400 threads and all is OK.
    2. Never used a VPS, but I guess it will be just like Win Home Server which is pretty much the same as Win7 - I'm sure some of the VPS ppl can add a bit more meat here
    3. Yay, you can just back up everything and restore to the new install
    4. Once SER is installed on your VPS, you won't need to use your main desktop other than to remote access into it.  The VPS will just run constantly, with some minor tweaks / maintenance from you
  • Cool, thanks for the responses guys.
  • Hey guys,