Skip to content

Some questions about setting up a VPS

edited December 2012 in Need Help
OK, I'm thinking of setting up a VPS but I've never done it before so I have some questions. The main reason I want to do this is so I can put many programs there and get my outsourcer to access it (rather than them installing on their computers - as sometimes I only have one license). Now, this is what a VPS can help me in right - it's like a virtual computer and my VA can access it right? Unless I'm mistaken.

Also, I'm only going to use one if it's cheap. Someone who uses Magic Submitter (I have that too) recommended Burst.net - can get a VPS for about $14/month. I'm not sure if that's cheap and if it's cheap only coz it's not good?

I'm not expecting to use it a lot. Maybe put GSA, Captcha Sniper, Magic Submitter and Ultimate Demon, Scrapebox, Kontent Machine. And not a whole lot of campaigns for the auto submission softwares - YET!

So for those who have more experience, could you tell me about my plan above? Anything to take note?

Also, I have NO IDEA what to do in terms of setting it all up. Is there any tutorials or videos you can recommend that will show me what is involved in all this setting up? Thanks.
Tagged:

Comments

• Mate, consider a VPS like a normal PC but stationed elsewhere. Somewhere that it can run full time and you can access it remotely whenever you want. That's all it is. You'll use Remote Desktop to connect from windows via the IP address. Once logged in it's like sitting in front of your own PC, but probably with something like Windows Server 2008 running on it. 

Now with keeping that in mind decide what specs would be needed on a normal PC to run those programs you plan on running and choose your VPS around that. I doubt that a $14 p/month VPS will run those progs of yours simultaneously, and maybe not even just a couple of them at the same time.  
  • LeeGLeeG Eating your first bourne