Skip to content

Import URLs is taking forever

edited February 2013 in Need Help
I have never used the "Import URLs" function before. I scraped a couple million urls using other tools and footprints for GSA SER sites. I am trying a small portion of them (under 20K) just to see how it works. It has been running for two hours and has "Identified: 484" and "Unknown: 5555". This seems terrible to me. Is this normal speed for this process? If not, how can I figure what I am doing wrong?
Tagged:

Comments

• How many threads are you running and at what time out?
  • Yeah...shudda put that...100 threads...30 secs timeout
  • I do have GScraper running as well (with 100 threads), but CPU utilization is only about 20% and network utilization is very low (100kbits/sec or less)
  • sorry....just went back and checked...GScraper is at 50 threads.

• edited February 2013
    Dont import lists.. takes too long time and you cant use anything else in the program while its doing that.. just split it in batches of 50.000 urls and feed them to your Tier2/3 projects, works much faster and the good ones will sort into your 'submitted' or "identified" list under Options->Tools automatically if you activated the checkbox there
  • It would seem to me that one the main reasons for this option would be to remove some of the "scraping" burden from GSA SER. I should get better results (faster anyway) if the program does not have to do the scraping process. More resources could be used for posting.

Whether SER does the scraping or it is done with something else, SER still has the do the "identify" process. Whether it does it all in one batch or little by little, it should not "work much faster" one way or the other. It should be going through the same logic - therefore, taking the same amount of time.