Skip to content

Newb VPS Question

edited February 2013 in Need Help
Hey all, new to these parts and to GSA.  Been browsing around here for days now learning all I can, got most of my ducks in order to start using GSA. 

I bought VPS through the poweruphosting deal you can through GSA, I now have my VPS up and running on my comp, but I am not sure the steps to properly get GSA up and running to it, as I have never used a VPS before. 

Right now I have the trial version running on my comp, not sure if I have to uninstall it there or something.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve

Comments

• OzzOzz
    edited February 2013
    a VPS is like your own PC, just with the difference that you control it per remote.

this is what you have to do.
    - download SER with your browser at your VPS and install it
    - enter your licence key and you are good to go

you can leave your trial at your home pc and even enter the licence also, but you have to make sure that only one version at time of SER is running. this means when you feel to configure your projects at your home PC than stop and close SER at your VPS before you start it on your home PC.

also do you a favour and buy some proxies. as you should start slow in the beginning to get a good understanding of the software just buy 10 shared proxies of proxy hub or buyproxies (or some other) and start with up to 30-50 threads in SER before you increase the thread count and numbers of proxies accordingly.
  • Thanks Ozz

So far I have 10 private proxies from proxy-hub, VPS, ACW (should I download this to VPS too).

I plan on obviously purchasing GSA and putting that on VPS, for captchas the GSA CB seems to be the best one to get, I assume I should download that to VPS as well, and I plan on getting GSA SEO Indexder, which I assume should also be put on VPS. 

I want to pick up the KeywordMapPro that was recommended on the tutorial videos here in the forum as well.