Skip to content

Seo and GSA advice needed

edited October 2012 in Need Help
I've been running GSA on my moneysite URL for four months. Very good results so far - on google page one or two on most of my key searches now.

I now need to modify my site page. Change Title tag by adding and moving a few words, change meta desc, and add some content, add some meta keywords, etc. Not drastic changes and I plan to keep it quality and continue to follow seo guidelines as I did originally (within recommended character limits, etc)

When I publish my web page changes, will this ruin all the backlink work (and good ranking results) that I have achieved over the last four months using GSA? By making these changes am I asking for trouble?
Anybody have any experience as to what happens with ranking results you have already achieved when you make changes to your site page?

Comments

• Reminder = dont fix it if its not broken

I have done something like that long time back and google just screwed my site..unless it really necessary and you can afford to loose rank, go ahead..otherwise dont do anything if ur ranking good
  • i guess I should just build new pages and run GSA on them -lot of work but would rather play it safe. Thanks for the advice!
  • Don't take my word for it -- but OFF PAGE optimization (backlink building) is far superior in Search Engine strength to ON PAGE optimization (changing title tags, description, body copy, etc).

So my personal viewpoint is that I don't think that you should encounter much change based on HOW MUCH actual backlink strength a given page you are changing HAS.

SUGGESTION:  Do it for one page -- note your changes -- wait 2-3 weeks -- see if there is an affect.  If not, do the remaining pages that have good backlink strength.