Skip to content

Private proxy question

edited October 2012 in Need Help
I've never bought private proxies.
When you puchase, I assume they ask for your IP address so they can use it for the Proxie or am I wrong?
I ask this because my Internet provider gives me a dynamic ip which changes once in while.

I think my ip has changed twice over the last few months due to router reboots,etc. I am worried that the private proxies I purchase will not hide my changed ip if I do not constantly keep track of it?

Is it possible to have the private Proxie vendor change my ip if I need to do so?
How does this work?

Comments

• I am using proxyblaze and I just login to a page after my ip address changes and that re authorizes my proxies to my new ip address, since the proxies are ip authenticated.
  • I think it depends on which proxies you use. I'm not really a proxy expert, but my IP changes too and I don't have any problems (not ip authenticated). Also, the provider never needed my IP. I think it's the difference between ip authenticated and "normal" proxies. Best would be to actually ask the question to a proxy provider.
  • I'm a newbie to private proxies. Just bought mine a few days back. Never gave my ip address. They just gave me proxy info and user and password. So I think you're fine. Just get some. It's done me a lot of good in terms of speed.
  • Typically private proxies are "authenticated". This is a fancy way of saying they want to make sure that the person using them is the person that paid for them in the first place. (You don't want someone else using your proxies after all.)

There are two ways of doing this authentication. 1.) IP authentication. 2.) User/Pswd authentication.

Some proxy providers use one way, some use the other way, and some allow both.