Skip to content

[Feature Request] Identification on GPU (CPU is very slow)

Lord_AlfredLord_Alfred world
edited January 2018 in GSA Platform Identifier
Hi.

Yesterday I scraped very small urls list and I try to identify this in GSA PI. It's my first time for using this program.
In my own home server (2 x Intel XEON X5660 2.8GHz = 24 cores with hyper threading and 96GB RAM) I "eat" all CPU usage on 50 Threads in GSA PI. And my small urls list (1.5 million unique domains) will be identified in 134 hours (or more)... It's very, very slow.

I think, maybe I use not optimal settings for my project (tell me if its true), but in 2018 year maybe it's time for move to GPU identification? I known, its hard process for programmers, but then identification increase in 10X or 100X times.

My project (and global) settings:

Comments

• s4nt0ss4nt0s Houston, Texas
    @lordalfred - I see you have "limit bandwidth" unchecked on the main UI. You should have that checked and try lowering it a bit and it should help with CPU usage.
  • Lord_AlfredLord_Alfred world
    edited January 2018
    s4nt0s, hmm.. Why? My bandwith is not limited and "Down speed" is lower 1MB/sec. If I check on "limit bandwith" its lowering CPU usage, but it's also lowering my "URL/sec", right? Maybe there are another solutions or advices for increase speed?

andrzejek, no, I tell about only move "identification" process onto GPU. It's use more response checks, regexps and some other very heavy tasks on CPU. I think, on GSA PI already use async on "identification" process, but using GPU in this (I guess) will be increase overall speed in more than 10X times.

PS: http://www.cs.cmu.edu/afs/cs/academic/class/15418-s12/www/competition/bkase.github.com/CUDA-grep/finalreport.html