Skip to content

How to troubleshoot my VPS?

edited March 2013 in Need Help
What specs and/or stats can I look at to determine if my VPS is not working properly?
I've never used a VPS before so sorry for the noob question.

Comments

• AlexRAlexR Cape Town
    Think of it like a computer. What do you look for to check your computer is not working? 
  • ronron SERLists.com
    Focus on: CPU, RAM and Internet Speed.
  • I've run speed tests and they've all tested good. My CPU is below 2% most of the time. Occasionally the CPU usage will spike - but only for a few seconds or a few minutes.
  • ronron SERLists.com
    edited March 2013

CPU can take a pounding, but if you see it at 100% for a stretch, it's just a matter of time before there's a freeze. The scheduler can usually overcome this easily. I like running 20 projects at 15 minutes as that really hits all the projects every two hours with a steady stream of links. A lot of people do 10 projects every 30 minutes. Everyone has a different recipe.

Another of my favorite tricks (because I don't like the way scheduler handles paused projects) is to run the critical project(s) without scheduler when I go to bed and leave the others inactive. Then when I wake up I turn on the less important projects. So a scheduler-less day.

Always have the task manager on so you can easily spot how things are going with RAM and CPU. Make sure you *backup every day*. Usually I do a mid-day backup, and then before midnight I rewrite that file with a more current backup. Just keep 2-3 days of backup because those files can get big, and you only have so much disk space.