Skip to content

VPS vs Own Computer

edited March 2013 in Other / Mixed
I've been a student of SEO for a long time (call me a perfectionist and I want to know it all before I drop my $) but I just invested in some GSA products (SER, CB, SEO Indexer). I was wondering what type of difference there is from a VPS and a home connection? As far as the numbers of submissions being made? Having a 20mbps/5mbps line at home (I consistently get 16mbps/4mbps) is it worth it?

I'm more just wondering if the net speed makes that big of a difference on link building speed (I know having good proxies also but let's just assume the ones I use are as fast as yours). Isn't there a point where SER can't work as fast as the bandwidth provides info?

Comments

• davbeldavbel UK
    edited March 2013
    @saga I have the same questions too about bandwidth/connection speed.

I'm running SER with Captcha Sniper on a WHS2011 box that runs on an oldish E6600 cpu and 4Gb ram.  My connection is 30mbps/10mbps that is consistently at 27/9mbps.

I'm running 10 private proxies with 18 projects over 10 campaigns (some with up to 3 tiers) and after tweaking SER I'm getting an average of 40k subs and 3-6k verified each day.

To achieve this the CPU is pretty much at 100% with 50 threads running and I'm at the point where I don't think I can squeeze anymore out of my current setup and I'm not sure if it's proxies, my server or my connection which is the bottle neck...
  • royalmiceroyalmice WEBSITE: ---> https://asiavirtualsolutions.com | SKYPE:---> asiavirtualsolutions
    @davbelo

Do u only use that 10 private proxies, or u also use public ones ?

I have a I7 2006k sandy bridge cpu running at 3.6 Mhz on a 50 / 5 line
    I have 100 private proxies which i mixed up with public proxies.
    I have around 30 project s

I can push it to 1000 threads but for some reason i hardly ever utelise more than 2 MB download and 700 k upload.