Skip to content

What's in a list?

Hi guys, sorry I'm a newb at GSA...

What's in a list that has like 100k+ keywords that people are scraping and selling? That's a lot of keywords... are they targeted toward a certain keyword?

In the "keyword" area for my project, I only have around 5 or 6. Please help me out. thanks :)

Comments

• goonergooner SERLists.com
    Those are general keyword lists, to help you scrape more targets.

You will find SER runs faster if you have more keywords, but of course those links will be less targeted.

IMHO SER is not great at targeted link building, so i use as many keywords as possible.
  • So would I be correct to assume it will still be quality to post on general keywords as long as I'm only linking to Tier 1 or Tier 2's and not my money site?

And what are the websites in a list? Forums? Blogs? 
  • goonergooner SERLists.com
    Ah i thought you meant sitelists but i wasn't sure.

The sitelists that people are selling are a list of verified URLs. You can import them into SER and it will run much faster than if you allow SER to scrape by itself.

For how you approach tier 1, it's up to you. If you use contextual links (articles, social networks and wiki's) you can point them at your money site because the link will be within an article that is related to your niche. So it's a relevant link.

But if you want to be safe then you can only use those links for lower tiers. But then what links will go to your money site?

It depends on your strategy... There are lots of post on this forum and SEO forums that will help you decide your strategy...